Yes. When you create a new article you can save it as offline before it is published. This allows you to set up internal processes for quality control before you add more content to your knowledge base, or finishing your article editing at another time.
To save a new article as offline simply click on the 'Save' button. The article will be available at the 'All Articles' section. The article will be labeled with the 'Offline' and the 'Never Published' system labels.